The scholarship application is closed for the school year. Please check back near the start of the next school year for application information.

This scholarship provides graduating high school seniors an opportunity to continue their education at an accredited college or university offering a bachelor's degree program.

We believe that through encouragement and financial assistance, these deserving students will one day make a significant contribution to their communities.


Applicants must:

  • Be the son/daughter of a customer with a primary residence in WPS territory, or the son/daughter of an employee of WPS.
  • Attend a college or university accredited by a regional or state accrediting agency listed in the latest edition of the "Higher Education Directory."
  • Complete his or her high school graduation requirements in the current academic year.
  • Enter college by September of the current year.
  • Be in the upper 10% of his or her graduation class (scholastically).


  • Scholarship award recipients can receive a maximum renewable award of $1,500 per year for four years, if they attend one of the approved colleges in Wisconsin or Upper Michigan.
  • If there is no financial need, or if the combination of the federal EFC and other scholarships and grants will cover all tuition and book expenses, a winner will receive a one-time $1,000 honorary award if they attend one of the approved colleges in Wisconsin or Upper Michigan.
  • Scholarship recipients attending colleges or universities not on the approved college list will receive a one-year honorary award of $500.
  • In addition, awards may be used at any of the 13 two-year campuses of the University of Wisconsin Center System, provided the intention is to transfer and obtain a bachelor's degree.
  • The amount of the scholarship is based on a student's financial need.
  • Students may accept other scholarship awards; however, all awards must be reported to Scholarship Assessment Service.


The scholarship application is closed for the school year. Please check back near the start of the next school year for application information.


Semi-finalists are selected based on rank-in-class and ACT or SAT-I scores. Semi-finalists will be required to submit the following:

  • Biographical Questionnaire
  • Secondary School Report Form
  • Copy of Student Aid Report (SAR)

Award recipients and alternates are selected by evaluating test scores, high school academic records, extracurricular activities, high school recommendations, creativity and written expression.

An independent scholarship committee of educators selects scholarship recipients. Committee members, whose training and experience qualify them to evaluate applicants, are from the field of higher education. No employees of WPS will be engaged in the selection process.


Recipients and alternates will be notified beginning of April, and each scholarship award will become effective when the student is enrolled in college. The scholarship award will be sent directly to the college and will be credited to the recipient's account.

Recipients of renewable scholarships who maintain satisfactory progress and are in good standing at their colleges will retain the scholarship for four years or until receiving a bachelor's degree, whichever comes first. The amount of the stipend may change if the recipient's financial need changes.

If a recipient's studies are interrupted by illness, accident or other extenuating circumstances, a student can request that the scholarship be held for later use.

Calendar of Events

Scholarship announcement information distributed to schools. Applicants who do not have ACT or SAT results from the junior year must register for one of the fall administrations.
Scholarship Assessment Service (SAS) must receive scholarship applications, including an official transcript, by February 1. SAS notifies semi-finalists of their selection and sends them each a Biographical Questionnaire and Secondary School Report Form.
  • Semi-finalists return Biographical Questionnaires to SAS.
  • Counselors or principals return Secondary School Report Forms to SAS.
  • Semi-finalists return copy of Student Aid Report to SAS.
Scholarship Selection Committee meets to select finalists.
Recipients notified of scholarship and amount of stipend.
Wisconsin Public Service Foundation makes public announcement of recipients.

List of Approved Colleges in Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Alverno College - Milwaukee, WI
Bellin College of Nursing - Green Bay, WI
Beloit College - Beloit, WI
Cardinal Stritch University - Milwaukee, WI
Carroll College - Waukesha, WI
Carthage College - Kenosha, WI
Concordia University - Mequon, WI
Edgewood College - Madison, WI
Findlandia University - Hancock, WI
Lake Superior State University - Marie, MI
Lakeland College - Sheboygan, WI
Lawrence University - Appleton, WI
Marian College of Fond du Lac - Fond du Lac, WI
Marquette University - Milwaukee, WI
Michigan Technological University - Houghton, MI
Milwaukee School of Engineering - Milwaukee, WI
Mount Mary College - Milwaukee, WI
Mount Senario College - Ladysmith, WI
Northern Michigan University - Marquette, MI
Northland College - Ashland, WI
Ripon College - Ripon, WI
Silver Lake College - Manitowoc, WI
St. Norbert College - De Pere, WI
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire - Eau Claire, WI
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay - Green Bay, WI
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse - La Crosse, WI
University of Wisconsin-Madison - Madison, WI
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Milwaukee, WI
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh - Oshkosh, WI
University of Wisconsin-Parkside - Kenosha, WI
University of Wisconsin-Platteville - Platteville, WI
University of Wisconsin-River Falls - River Falls, WI
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point - Stevens Point, WI
University of Wisconsin-Stout - Menomonie, WI
University of Wisconsin-Superior - Superior, WI
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater - Whitewater, WI
Viterbo College - La Crosse, WI
Wisconsin Lutheran College - Milwaukee, WI

List of Approved Two-Year Campuses:

Baraboo/Sauk County
Barron County
Fond du Lac
Fox Valley
Marathon County
Marinette County
Marshfield/Wood County
Rock County
Washington County